Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

I have a plan March 3, 2012

Filed under: knitting,Ladybug,WIP — Emily @ 2:02 pm
Tags: , , ,

I read through the pattern before starting.  I highlighted all of my numbers and all the “gotchas” – the “at the same times”, the “Only for size XL” etc.  So when I started the diamond rib at the bottom of the body, I just kept knitting using the US 6 needles I’d been using for the rest of the sweater.  It looked a little off, so I read that part of the pattern again.  And again.  “Hmm,” I thought to myself, “this ribbing looks really loose.  Should I go down a needle size or two?  Nah, the pattern doesn’t say to.  I’ll just keep knitting.  Let’s see what it looks like with both repeats.”  Bind off.  “It’s OK, not perfect, maybe it’ll be fine after a wash.  Water washes away many sins.”  Look at instructions for neckline, it uses the same diamond rib.  “WHAT THE HELL, use smaller needles?  Why didn’t it say to OH MY GOD HOW MANY TIMES DID I LOOK BUT NOT SEE THAT?”

So yeah, I’m going to knit the neckline with the smaller needles and see if there’s a big difference.  If I like it better, I’ll rip out the diamond rib from the bottom.  It’s only a bind off and 8 rows.

In other news…  I washed my recently completed Fawkes socks, and this is what the water looked like.  Good thing I didn’t just toss them in with everything else!

Fawkes05

In other, other news, Ladybug had her 7th (ACK!) birthday in January, and received a pretty cool gift. A crocheted ripple blanket. It’s the size of a twin bed, seriously. As you can see, it’s done in a color that she loves.

IMAG0323.jpg
Yes, it almost perfectly matches her comforter.

If she’s not careful, I may steal it.

 

One Response to “I have a plan”

  1. anotheryarn Says:

    Sounds like a good plan.


Leave a Reply

