Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Keeping busy April 8, 2011

Filed under: knitting,me — Emily @ 7:50 am

I finished the vest over a week ago – so what on earth have I been doing?

I’m sure you’d be happy to hear that I started another pair of socks.  Yeah, boring.  Like you didn’t expect that.  Here’s something that you wouldn’t expect:

I’ve been running.  (Well, jogging/walking, really.)  I started the Couch to 5k program a few weeks ago, and I just started week 3.  And you know what?  It’s not so bad.  I’ve always sucked at anything that involved stamina, so this gradual approach seems to be the ticket.  Also useful – the free Android app called Exertime, which came pre-programmed with the timers for the Cto5k runs.  I really have no excuse now.

What else?  Reading.  I hit the jackpot at the library a couple of weekends ago with some knitting books, and also on a whim picked up the first in Charlaine Harris’s Sookie books.  Yeah, they pulled me right in, and now I’m waiting for book 4 to be available.  Luckily, a book I’d requested months ago arrived to fill the void.  (It’s a good read, just as funny as her blog.  Strangely though, it’s not the first memoir I’ve read this year about a pregnancy that didn’t go as expected.)

And yardwork, of course.  It’s Spring – that means it’s time to get all the leaves that we missed last fall.  I’m the-perpetually-hopeful gardener, and I planted some strawberries, rhubarb and asparagus starts, as well as corn, squash, and green been from seed.  We’ll see if anything survives this year.

Last night I discovered an Orca pattern that I just HAVE to knit.  He’ll look so cute on my desk at work.  I think my socks may take a breather while I whip this little guy up!

I shall leave you with a picture of my library haul.  We have an amazing library system around here!

IMAG0142.jpg

 

3 Responses to “Keeping busy”

  1. anotheryarn Says:

    I love getting knitting books from the library. Trial Period so to speak.

  2. lisa Says:

    That orca looks fabulous!

  3. Kelly Says:

    I’ve been thinking hard about the Couch-to-5K program. I’m just wondering if it would be too much for my knees at this advanced age.


Leave a Reply

