Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

A New Skew July 1, 2010

Filed under: knitting,Socks,WIP — Emily @ 8:08 am

Here’s where I am on my pair of skews.

P7010370

What? You say that it doesn’t look much like a sock?

P7010371

Better? Want to see the heel?  Please note how taut those stitches are in the band that wraps around the back of the heel.

P7010372

Here’s another view. (Don’t get vertigo, I think I was dangling the camera to get this picture.)

P7010374

Here’s the right side of the sock. You can see I haven’t closed up the hole after “turning” the heel.

P7010373

So one word of advice. If you know you have a high instep, please don’t blindly follow the pattern. You will end up with a sock that will not, under any circumstances, go over your heel. And then you will have to rip out 3 days of work just to make the designer’s adjustments for your instep. This will not make you happy, and you will also likely forget one of the increases on top of the foot. You won’t fix it because there’s no way in hell that you’re going to rip out 3 more days of work.

(Yarn is Mountain Colors Bearfoot in Sun River.  It also likes to blind my camera.)

 

3 Responses to “A New Skew”

  1. Gorgeous A friend gave me a skein of that very same yarn in a different colorway. I just might have to knit a pair of those for myself.

  2. kemtee Says:

    Okay, I’m dizzy now. But I like the yarn.

  3. lisa Says:

    Uh-oh, I’m guessing you have some high arches! I love hand knit socks, and they SEEM like such a good idea to knit being small projects and all, and there ARE so many great patterns for them. But I just can’t find myself knitting them….


Leave a Reply

