Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Garterlicious June 29, 2009

Filed under: FO,knitting — Emily @ 1:15 pm
Tags: ,

What could be cuddlier than a garter stitch blanket?

HBB angled

Pattern: Moderne Baby Blanket
Yarn: Cascade Sierra, 4 colors, 2 skeins of each color
Needle: US 7 (My harmony options)
Started: Sometime around January 2008, while I was pregnant with Pigeon
Finished: June 25, 2009
Mods: The next to the last block was supposed to be 54 garter ridges. I did 3. The blanket was big enough. Another common mod is that I did not bind off every block. For my needs, the applied I-cord gives it enough stability.

Icord corner

Here you can see that 3 ridge block. I really wanted to do the block, but didn’t want to add much length to the blanket.  And since we’re looking at it, here’s the tutorial I used for the applied I-cord.

Garter intarsia

And here’s the garter intarsia section. It wasn’t hard, just a little annoying.

The one other thing I did that I’d highly recommend to anyone is to work away the ends as you knit.  It saved me a lot of time at the end!

All the ends
Also shown is my new favorite indulgence – Hershey’s Treasures Special Dark with truffle filling. MMMMM

And for reading this far, you get a special bonus FO!

Ballband dishcloth

Pattern: Ballband Dishcloth
Yarn: Lily Sugar ‘n Cream solid and stripe
Needle: US 6 – 4.25mm
Start: June 26, 2009
Finish: June 29, 2009

What to knit next?  Will it be from Mason-Dixon Knitting?  Who knows.

 

3 Responses to “Garterlicious”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Oh, Em… that’s gorgeous. Really. The colors work so well together, and it’s very much reminding me of Mondrian in its feel. Way to work that blankie!

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Ooh I love that blanket! The colors are so pretty together!

  3. […] have decided that I know who is getting the Moderne Baby Blanket I knit way back in 2008-2009.  One of my best friends from college is having her first baby (a […]


Leave a Reply

