Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Done, but not March 4, 2009

Filed under: Ladybug — Emily @ 4:14 pm

I’m at that point where I’m mentally done with my Chevalier mittens.  So tired of the cabling.  Tired of the red yarn.  Done done done.  But they’re not.  I still have half a mitten to go.  I probably missed the last snowfall of the winter.  They would have been great for our snowball fight on Saturday.

So today I procrastinated by winding yarn.  I had to wind up a second hank of the Cascade for the mitten (same yarn as Ladybug’s mittens, dontcha know) so I wound up the second hank of KPPPM for the Flutterby socks and recaked some laceweight that I’m planning on using for the Cardi Cozy.  

So instead of depressing everyone with talk of being sick of my knitting, and why I’m not going to cast on 4 different things right now (couldn’t find a pattern worthy of the Manos Silk.  Didn’t want a scarf.  I’m just picky, I guess.), I shall discuss someone else’s crafting.

Michelle.  She’s made stuff recently for my girls, but she also made a couple things for Ladybug a long while ago that I shall talk about.

P6050092-cropped

I don’t really know when this picture was taken (I put the date into Flickr that I thought was close enough).  I don’t know what yarn she used, and it’s not on her Ravelry project page.  But Ladybug wore the heck out of the hat that Spring/Summer/Fall, until she outgrew it and it was put into the hat basket.  Pidge wore it a lot this fall, until the weather got too cool.  I remember watching Michelle freeform crochet the flower onto the hat.

P3040128

A pair of baby booties, given to us at the same time.  Ladybug also wore these until she started wanting to walk, and then they were put away.  We didn’t get any pictures of her wearing them, and unfortunately, Pidge won’t be able to.  I was a big FAIL when I put these away.  They ended up in the box of 9-12 month clothes, and were in the basement all this time (I hunted and hunted for them, but only found them when Pidge got the clothes upgrade.) and something made lunch of them.  You can kind of see on the right bootie near the toe, but there are more spots.  I feel like such a schmuck.  

See, I managed to not knit the mittens some more!  So now I can go cut up some potatoes (interestingly, for a red potato recipe that I learned from Michelle.  Small world.) and get ready to go pick up the girls for another evening at home.

 

3 Responses to “Done, but not”

  1. lisa Says:

    Well, mittens…. Last night as I was finishing the thumb (waste yarn thumb, so both mittens were made) on one mitten, I realized that I had made two right-handed mittens! Luckily I have enough yarn to make 2 left hands. sigh.

  2. Kelly Says:

    Go finish the mittens. You’ll thank yourself next winter.

    Mmm. Potatoes.

  3. anotheryarn Says:

    But just think how happy you will be when that first snowfall hits next fall/winter and you get to pull out beautiful _finished_ handmade mittens. I’m so glad that the little blue hat and orange shoes got some use. Don’t feel bad that they got eaten – it is a hazard of wool (but save the buttons). The slippers were made from Dale of Norway wool and the hat from Patons Grace. I guess I should go input my pre-2006 stuff in Ravelry.


Leave a Reply

