Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

First (and maybe last) FO for my Hubby October 3, 2007

Filed under: FO,knitting,Socks — Emily @ 3:31 pm

Yes folks, the Husband Socks are done. 

hubbysocks01

Pattern:  None.  Just generic measure the foot, subtract 10%, get my gauge and start knittin’.  There are 2.5″ of 2×2 ribbing at the cuff, and I used a standard slip stitch heel and wedge toe.
Yarn: Mountain Colors Bearfoot, colorway Larkspur, purchased at Personal Threads.
Needles: Crystal Palace Bamboo 6″ DPNs US size 1 (2.25mm).

hubbysocks02

Yeah, they’re on my feet.  Husband will wear them this weekend when the weather dips down into the 50’s all day long.  As you can see, they are too long for me.  This is a good thing.  Also, they are not tight at all.  Also good.  Hubby’s foot is a good inch wider around than mine is.

hubbysocks03

I used some sewing thread as reinforcement for the heel.  Maybe this was a stupid idea, but Hubby is very hard on the heels of his store-bought socks.

hubbysocks06

Isn’t the Bearfoot pretty?  I just love this colorway!  The mohair made it a little warm to knit with on those hot days when the A/C wasn’t working too well, but these should be lovely-warm for the winter.

hubbysocks04

You can’t see, but I also used some elastic thread in a nice chocolate brown for the first few rows of the cuff.  The staff at Personal Threads recommended that I try it, because he’s not going to like socks that pool around his ankles.  We’ll see if it works!

 

3 Responses to “First (and maybe last) FO for my Hubby”

  1. lisa Says:

    They look great! I’ve heard that when you use sewing thread for reinforcement, you should use the quilting thread that is made of nylon vs regular polyester thread.

  2. dobarah Says:

    These are GORGEOUS! I just love how delicious the Bearfoot knits up. After a pair this great, how could there not be more for the hubby (and you)!?

  3. Kelly Says:

    We love Bearfoot. Those came out really well.


Leave a Reply

