Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Let the seaming begin! September 11, 2007

Filed under: knitting,reid,Socks — Emily @ 10:17 am

I was able to finish the last sleeve and dunk all the pieces in water yesterday.  They dried overnight.  I might be able to work up the shoulder seams tonight.

I also took all of Hubby’s measurements and cast on for the first ever Husband Sock.  I am such a lucky knitter; his foot has only a 9″ circumference and is only 9 3/4″ long.  And he has skinny calves (because he used to be a track guy.)  At 7 spi, I cast on for a 60 stitch sock (size 2.25mm needles!).  How awesome is that?

Now my only decision is whether I should do the whole leg in 2×2 rib, or if I should just do a cuff, and stockinette for the rest.  I’m leaning toward the stockinette option right now. 

And of course I don’t have pictures, and even if I did they would be horrible.  I’m using Mountain Colors Bearfoot, colorway Larkspur, which is as close to the Plaid colorway of my Embossed Leaves socks as I could find. 

 

2 Responses to “Let the seaming begin!”

  1. lisa Says:

    I’m with you, stockinette for the foot for husband socks!

  2. Kelly Says:

    Hizzoner’s socks were a 2×2 rib all the way down the foot (sole in stockinette), and it made for a nice stretchy sock. And I hate to do ribbing. What kind of socks does he usually wear?


Leave a Reply

