Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Gobsmacked! August 30, 2007

Filed under: yarn — Emily @ 10:55 am

When I read about the Wall of Koigu on the L&V message boards, well, I didn’t know what to expect.  Really, any amount of KPPPM would be astonishing to me. 

So when I saw it in its glory, I was so dumbfounded that I forgot to take a picture.

Personal Threads was a very enjoyable experience.  It was easy to get to and easy to find (I love our system of numbered streets!)  I did have to make a U-Turn to get into the shop, but that’s just because there was a median I didn’t feel like hopping.  The yarn store is part of a conglomeration – antiques over here, yarn over there – but it wasn’t anything inconvenient.

The yarn part of the store is small and a little cramped, but they’re getting a new building soon to remedy that situation.  It will be a couple of blocks further down Dodge, and the skeleton of steel girders is visible from the shop window.

I was greeted quickly and warmly by the first staffmember I saw, who took me right back to the Koigu.  Where I promptly had a sensory overload experience.  I started my pile on the counter, where I met Joe.  Joe is the husband of Julie, who is listed on the website as the President.  (I’m not really sure of what, but that’s her title.)  Joe was very nice and chatty, and we talked about Koigu and their high demand.  He claims, and his selection backs him up, of a certain close relationship with the company.  He is trying to get their dyer to come to the new shop for their grand opening!

And then they received two large boxes of Koigu while I was there.  One was a sweater kit, and the other was Kersti and KPPPM.  If only they could have inventoried the new KPPPM before I left….

They also had Mountain Colors Bearfoot, which I think might just be the perfect Hubby sock yarn.  I expect 6.5 st/inch for his feet will be much faster than 8-9 st/inch.  Plus they had some colors that are just Him.  And some that are me. 

So, if you are looking for Koigu, make a trip out to Personal Threads

I left Omaha decidedly poorer in money and richer in yarn.

No room here to sit

The orange tote bag was a free gift!

The circuit board is an alarm panel. 

 

3 Responses to “Gobsmacked!”

  1. lisa Says:

    So is it an alarm board for when your heart races from seeing so much koigu?

  2. Kelly Says:

    I still don’t like Koigu, but I have to admit that the sheer spectacle would be lovely to behold. After all, I like the Grand Canyon, but that doesn’t mean I would want it in the living room.

    And I like Personal Threads. Awfully nice people to deal with long-distance. Perhaps when I hit my 20-year college reunion (urp!) I’ll sidetrack a wee bit westward… after all, who knows when I’ll be out there again?

  3. […] 18, 2007 at 9:47 am | In yarn | I haven’t felt a reason to rush to get pictures of my Koigu purchases from last month.  So instead of photographing them all at the same time, I’ll do it […]


Leave a Reply

