Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

What can I say? August 14, 2007

Filed under: WIP,yarn — Emily @ 10:18 am

Lovesticks BFL Ultra Painted Desert

Lovesticks M/T Hula Punch

Self-striping yarn from Lovesticks.  The dyer’s blog is here.  Painted Desert is 100% BFL Ultra, and Hula Punch is 50/50 Merino/Tencel.  Both are fingering weight sock yarn.

So, life.  Hopefully by the end of the day today we’ll have a working oven.  We haven’t really missed it, though, with temperatures pushing 100 and that wonderful heat index around 110.  Who wants to cook?

Yes, knitting continues, slowly as always.  I’m on my second Embossed Leaves sock, and on this one I decided to make a couple of changes. 

Change #1:  I will not start a round with a purl stitch, because no matter what I do, i.e. twisting the stitches, alternating rows twisted/not twisted, I still cannot get rid of the ladders.  Change #1 is really easy.  I’m just putting those first two purl stitches from the chart onto the previous needle.  Done and much prettier to my eye.

Change #2:  I will make my ribbed cuff a couple of rows longer.  Why?  Well, see next change.

Change #3:  I will stop the leg a couple of rows sooner, as in I’ll stop it on row 14 of the chart.  Hopefully by knitting the ribbing a couple of rows longer, the two sock legs will be the same height.

Why on earth am I doing #2 and 3?  Well, to make the star toe all pretty and have it complete the leaves as it is supposed to, I had to stop the pattern at row 8, which has left the first sock a little bit on the shorter side of fitting.  While it does fit, I would prefer the second sock to be just a smidge longer. 

Yes, I love knitting, but I just don’t know if I can bring myself to reknit the first sock.  We’ll see. 

 

One Response to “What can I say?”

  1. Renee Says:

    Pretty, pretty, pretty yarn! But I’m being strong – no more yarn for me!! I’ll enjoy yours vicariously.


Leave a Reply

