Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

A fish out of water July 19, 2007

Filed under: FO,knitting,pomatomus — Emily @ 12:51 pm

pomatomus04

Pattern: Pomatomus, by Cookie A.
Needles: US 0 (2.00mm) Crystal Palace Bamboo
Yarn: Yarn Pirate Merino/Tencel in Quicksilver
Mods: None really. I knit the toe a little shorter and not so pointy, but otherwise I followed the pattern to the letter.

pomatomus05

pomatomus06

pomatomus07

Here you can see my only issue, and I know what I would do differently.  My YO’s were so huge on the left side of the instep.  If I knit these again, I’d bypass the YO on that row and then on the next row just pick up the bar (as if to do a M1) and then I’d have my YO.

pomatomus08

I figured out how to use the super-tulip function on my camera!  (OK, I know that’s really a super macro function.  I just like to be silly sometimes.)  You know what else is silly?  I chose to wear these to work today!  Really, it’s only 88o outside today.

pomatomus09

This shot is a pretty good representation of the colors in the sock.

toesagacontinues

Look at how my toenail is starting to separate from my toe on the bottom. (Look at the crappy airbrushing I did to hide my toe hair.)

I know I said that I was going to work on Reid’s sleeves next, but I feel like I’d be forcing myself.  I’ll probably start Bellatrix tonight.  We’ll see if my chosen yarn will work with the drop stitch pattern.

 

4 Responses to “A fish out of water”

  1. lisa Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE your socks!!! Hve you seen the wrist warmers based on that pattern? I saw them in person, she said she got the pattern on line, maybe Knitty? Poor toe! I did lose one like that, but a new one grew in behind it and after a bit it looked like it should.

  2. turtlegirl76 Says:

    Woman you need to WARN people before posting pics of that toe after such lovely pics of your Pomotomi. Ouch.

    They’re gorgeous. That pattern kicked my ass and stole my name. You’re better than me for finishing a pair! I barely got through 1 repeat!

  3. Kelly Says:

    Ok, that is the PERFECT color yarn for that pattern. Really. Though I’m jealous that you actually had your hands on a skein of Yarn Pirate. I’m never quick enough.

    Ouch. Bad toe. Bad. On the other hand, it does match your socks.

    *DUCKS*

  4. […] January 11, 2008 at 10:43 am | In pomatomus | One of my Poms has developed a hole.  An insidious hole in the side of the heel flap.  I think the yarn must […]


Leave a Reply

