Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

The law of averages July 18, 2007

Filed under: me — Emily @ 10:00 am

What do you consider to be an average size foot?  I’ve always thought that a US 7-8 was average. 

My feet are a US 7, 9 inches long and 8 inches around the ball of the foot.  Ok, my feet are verging on narrow, I do recognize that. 

When I read posts in blogland regarding Colinette Jitterbug and it’s lack of yardage (291.995 yds or 267 m), I sometimes chime in and say that I was able to get a full pair of socks out of one skein for my average sized feet.

But are my feet really average? 

I’ve got another family shot for you.  This time it’s a four generation picture from the Fourth of July.  Anna, me, my Mom, and my Grandpa who turns 89 this September. 

Four Generations

A neat little FYI:  Grandpa had bypass surgery on the same day that President Clinton had his done. 

 

2 Responses to “The law of averages”

  1. lisa Says:

    Grandpa brushing the famous! (He looks great btw). I keep thinking the average foot size is way bigger than all of that. I’m a solid 9.5 in a good shoe, and usually a 10. But are there EVER any 9.5’s? NO and hardly any 10’s. Who are all these big-footed women?

  2. Well, I technically wear an 8 but I can wear some 7-1/2s. But I know that the trend that peoples’ feet are getting bigger. My niece is almost 11 and wears a woman’s 7. Her brother wears a men’s 12 and his foot is still growing. Here is a way to look at it is that our selection of shoes is increasing.


Leave a Reply

