Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

It’s that time of year again July 3, 2007

Filed under: me — Emily @ 9:46 am

SECTION 220.090:     DISCHARGE LAWFUL — WHEN

The discharge, detonation or shooting of fireworks shall only be permitted between the hours of 1:00 P.M. and 11:00 P.M. on the third (3rd) of July and between the hours of 9:00 A.M. and 11:00 P.M. on the fourth (4th) and fifth (5th) of July each year.  The explosion of fireworks at any other times is unlawful, except by special permit of the Board of Aldermen.   

The explosions started last week. 

I feel like such an old fuddy-duddy when I complain about fireworks, but we end up with a lot of trash and detritus from the kids two houses down the street.  Not to mention all of the noise. 

I do like fireworks, though.  Just on my terms.  Growing up, we always took our explosive devices out to my Aunt’s house.  She lived on 10 acres and her closest neighbor was pretty far away.  They didn’t have to worry about mowing over unexploded ordinance or sweeping the bottle rocket sticks off of their roof.

Oh well, right now it’s legal so I’ll put up with it.  Doesn’t mean I won’t be grumbly, though.

 

One Response to “It’s that time of year again”

  1. lisa Says:

    Ooooh! I love your new yarn. (and just this morning I ordered that book! along with Charmed Knitting-I have a HP fan here). Fireworks are illegal here, so only the ‘officials’ can set them off. I can’t say that I mind. Your post reminded me that I had a dream about them last night or the one before. Not sure why. But I was thinking, why do I have these? Would I let the kiddo touch them? (a kid around here lost part of his hand using them, even though they aren’t legal). Did I say I love your new yarn????


Leave a Reply

