Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Admissions May 1, 2007

Filed under: knitting,roza's socks — Emily @ 9:12 am

I was going to kitchener the toes on my second Roza’s Sock last night, but Heroes was on.  It required my full attention!

I think I’m going to lay off the hand-painted yarns for a bit, unless they’re Fleece Artist or Koigu.  Or any other brand that does the speckly thing.  I love the color combinations that are produced, but I don’t like how they behave.  I’ve been very relaxed about it in the past, but the Roza’s Socks are really annoying me.  It’s not the pattern or how the yarn feels; it’s how the spirals change with just 2 stitches difference.  I want to be able to knit something with the right fit and not worry about how the colors behave.

I still plan on trying to make the Pomatomus socks with the Yarn Pirate in Quicksilver.  I hope that the color changes are subtle enough that it won’t bother me.  If not, well….

I don’t like Magic Loop as much as I thought I did.  It’s great (for me) for starting my toe-up socks because I like the turkish cast-on, but I don’t like how strained the stitches get.  I’m going back to DPN’s, but I’ll start any toes with Magic Loop and then put them onto DPN’s after a few rows.

 

Leave a Reply

