Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Certify me April 5, 2007

Filed under: me,roza's socks — Emily @ 9:47 am

I have imaginary conversations with people.

I even get into heated arguments during these conversations.

I clearly spend too much time driving by myself.  Or in the shower by myself.

So this morning I had the Kookaburra song stuck in my head. 

Kookaburra sits in the old gum tree

merry merry king of the bushes he

laugh, kookaburra laugh, kookaburra

gay your life must be.

Except I had the Little People version in my head, where they change the word “gay” to “happy.”  I assume they did it to be politically correct.  It doesn’t really bother me, but it is a little disconcerting when I’m singing along at the top of my lungs.  Anna’s going to think I don’t know the words to her song. 

So this brought me to the imaginary discussion (in my shower at 4:30am) with future Anna, explaining that some couples are Mommies and Daddies and some are Mommies and Mommies and some are Daddies and Daddies.  Which then morphed into another imaginary conversation with Anna explaining where babies come from.  And during that conversation (including the vague mention that sometimes people do things to try to not have a baby), my mind switched to survival of the fittest and how I would totally be dead if I didn’t live in a modern age.  I think it might have been during the part where I was trying to explain in-vitro conception. 

Man, without glasses I wouldn’t be able to see the lion as it attacked me.  Nor would I be able to hunt anything for food unless it walked under my nose.  The places that advertise “glasses while you wait” like EyeMasters don’t stock the lenses I need for my left eye. 

In less, um, revealing news, I found a good way to cure my Roza’s socks blues.  I decided that I didn’t want an 8″ cuff and that 6″ unstretched (7″ stretched) would be perfectly fine and I started the heel flap.  It’s much more interesting now.

 

One Response to “Certify me”

  1. lisa Says:

    Um, it’s a little frightening that you sound just like the voices in my head. Same conversations and everything! The socks are looking good. I like a short cuff too. Makes the foot part look odd, but they go more quickly. And unless it’s cold, I always roll the socks over anyhow. (I knit a kookaburra a while ago, will have to find the pics).


Leave a Reply

