Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Let’s talk about yarn, baby March 13, 2007

Filed under: yarn — Emily @ 11:52 am

Admittedly, I don’t have a wide and varied experience with sock yarn.  I don’t know all the terminology about the construction of it; I couldn’t tell a 3 ply from a 4 ply or chained singles from Navajo plying.  So far I’ve knit socks out of Knitpicks Essential, Claudia Hand Painted, Fleece Artist Merino, and the in-progress Jaywalkers out of Colinette Jitterbug.  I’m not sure which is my favorite.  They each have their own benefits.  The Knitpicks Essential is cheap and utilitarian, while the Claudia felt soft and luxurious.  The Fleece Artist colors are phenomenal, and the Jitterbug is so smooth I can’t hardly get it to split even if I try!

When I bought the Jitterbug (love at first sight at my LYS that doesn’t have a wide variety of sock yarns), I didn’t realize that it’s a heavier weight yarn.  Colinette’s web site says that it calls for a 3.25mm needle, which is somewhat comparable to Schaefer Lola or Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport.  The Lola comes in 280yd hanks, while the Jitterbug has only 267 yards 267 meters, which equals 291.995 yards.  I suppose that’s a problem for retailers considering whether or not to stock the yarn.  It’s not a problem for me, though, with my 9″ feet. 

So yes, I’ll buy it again someday.  I can’t binge on yarn all of the time, so I won’t be buying any more tomorrow or next week, or maybe even for the next six months, but I’ll buy it. 

So Sheri, I’d love it if you chose to stock the yarn, but if you decide that it’s not right for your business I won’t hold it against you.  I’m just glad you’re thinking about it.  And if anybody else has an opinion on the subject, please go ahead and shout it out.  If you hate Jitterbug, I want to know why.  I’m all about learning. 

ETA:  The wording in bolding was added on 3-15 after I realized that I should pay a little more attention sometimes.

 

2 Responses to “Let’s talk about yarn, baby”

  1. I love the heavier yarn for socks. For me, the thicker the yarn, the squishier the socks and that means more cushion and more comfort. Plus, the fact that it knits up twice as fast, I’m all for that. I really choose what to buy more on the weight and yardage over some of the colours because I LOVE funky socks. I havent tried the Jitterbug but in looking at the yardage, I dont think I will. My socks need to be taller and my first pair from Sweet Georgia (280 yds) are, really, a bit too short for me to feel great in my boots. Perfect for regular shoes though.

  2. […] we have a problem. March 15, 2007 at 9:31 am | In yarn | I made a boo-boo.  When I was talking about the Colinette Jitterbug, I said that it had 267 yards/100g.  Oops, I did a NASA.  It has 267 METERS.  Also known as […]


Leave a Reply

