Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Inadequate February 27, 2007

Filed under: knitting — Emily @ 4:02 pm

I’m a firm believer in trying new things in knitting.  I’m not scared of knitting, which is probably why I started Reid after only having been a knitter for 6 months.  There is one thing, however, that I am fearful of: weaving in ends. 

I’ve seen Aija’s tutorial on how to weave in ends while knitting, and that seems great for stripes or just adding a new ball in.  But it doesn’t help with the cast-on or cast-off tails!  I hit the knitting section at Borders and found this book, which had all of one page on the subject. I’ve heard it’s a great book, but I didn’t buy it.

I consider myself OK at weaving in the ends when it’s just stockinette stitch; just work it along through the purl bumps. But what about when it’s in a ribbing? Or lace? AAAAAAAHHHH! Why won’t anyone answer that question with a full on in-depth chapter. Do you duplicate stitch? How do you keep that row from being thick and yuck? And then there’s a little bit of tail that sticks out or works its way free.

So yeah, there’s one of my weaknesses.  It hasn’t stopped me from knitting, but it has got me rather afraid of color work.  I’m sure someday I’ll find a way to work away those ends that doesn’t leave me trembling.  Until then, well, I’ll just keep practicing.

 

One Response to “Inadequate”

  1. Tanya Says:

    Try the book from Philosopher’s Wool. It’s on two-handed, two-color, knitting and should help you with cast-on ends, although not so much with cast-off or lace. I read somewhere that if you use a plied yarn you can unravel the plies and basically duplicate stitch in several different directions (one with each ply). This solves the thick/thin issue and also makes it unlikely to unravel since the stress would need to happen in multiple ways at once. HTH


Leave a Reply

