Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

It was meant to be August 2, 2012

Filed under: FO,knitting,me — Emily @ 8:49 am
Tags: , ,

Have you ever had a project that went so smoothly from start to finish?  I was fated to have this vest!  First of all, I had a suitable yarn in my stash, in just the right amount.  The magazine was the last one at the grocery store.  My admittedly meager swatch showed I had the right gauge with the first needles I tried.  I cast on 120 stitches only once and ended up with a tail in just the right amount.  Even the mistakes I made were able to be fixed easily, and I didn’t have to rip anything out!

 

IMG_0146

Pattern: Planche Vest by Meghan Jones, Interweave Knits Summer 2012
Yarn: Araucania Pomaire Solid in Melon, 2.63 skeins
Needles: US 7 and 9 Harmony Interchangeables
Started: July 14th, 2012
Finished: July 31, 2012
Mods: The only adjustment I made was to not have quite so many knit stitches around the keyhole in the back. I tried what the pattern told me to do but I thought it was too thick.  And if I were to knit it again, instead of using the pattern’s directions for the applied I-cord, I’d just pick up the stitches as I went around.  I thought this way was a little too fussy, having to move the stitches back to the left hand needle each time.

 

IMG_0148
Front view

The vest did sag a bit after wearing it all day (which is when the pictures were taken), but I’m still perfectly happy with it. I received so many compliments, two requests for one, and one request to teach someone to knit.

 

IMG_0147

And Hubby loves it too. I wonder why?

 

IMG_0145

He even agreed to take pictures for me! (Love my sunburn?)

 

IMG_0149

For some reason he thought it was important to get a shot of the side of the vest. So this is the part that goes under my arm.

 

IMG_0144

Raise the roof! Another successful project!

 

IMG_0142

Everybody’s smiling.

 

2 Responses to “It was meant to be”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Great project! I thought I saw these pics over on flickr… what a hoot that your hubster wanted to take the pics, especially “the part under your arm” ahem, boobs!

  2. anotheryarn Says:

    Um, you know the side of the vest wasn’t what he was trying to take picture of right?

    Very cute and I’m quite jealous that you finished in two weeks!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.