Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

Make like a tree and leaf August 29, 2007

Filed under: FO,knitting,Socks — Emily @ 9:00 am

I have socks!

fullfrontal

Pattern:  Embossed Leaves socks by Mona Schmidt, from Interweave’s Favorite Socks
Needles: US 0 (2.00mm) Crystal Palace Bamboo DPNs
Yarn: Crafty in a Good Way Kona Sock, colorway Plaid
Mods: I knit the leg for a full three repeats but didn’t add that extra half repeat because I don’t like my socks too tall. On the second sock, I stopped the leg a couple of rows earlier to maximize foot length. I also used the EOP stitch for my heel flaps.

The first picture up there is very true to color on my monitor. I have struggled the entire time with getting accuracy in color with this yarn. Of course to get accuracy, you don’t see any of the pattern details.

fulllength

There’s the stitch pattern. Very lovely. In real life, the color striping is hardly visible.

Now we talk about what I would do differently next time.

tooshortheelflap

Hello, I am a too short heel flap! The pattern calls for a 24 row garter edged heel flap, and that’s what I did. It’s too shallow for me. It’s wearable, and I’m not about to fix it now.

I mentioned before not liking the garter edge, but it has grown on me. I like how it looks, I just don’t necessarily like doing it.

effeduptoe

I am the effed up toe! I wasn’t paying attention to the pattern and did most of the toe decreases as k2tog instead of p2tog. I switched when I realized my error, but the perfectionist in me was on vacation and didn’t care if I redid it.

I do love the star toe, though. It may become my toe of choice. I didn’t think I’d like it, because I don’t have overly long toes, but it fits really well. My biggest worry is the little O opening up as I wear these socks.

etherialdetails

In summary, I like them, but I wish I had done better.

And in keeping with tradition, it’s time for a Toe Status Update!

P8280318

Yup, still ugly, and that nail is still hanging on tightly.

 

3 Responses to “Make like a tree and leaf”

  1. lisa Says:

    NICE socks! I give that nail another couple of weeks before you are rid of it…

  2. Kelly Says:

    I still love those socks. That yarn works so well with that pattern.

    My toe aches in sympathy.

  3. [...] using Mountain Colors Bearfoot, colorway Larkspur, which is as close to the Plaid colorway of my Embossed Leaves socks as I could [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.