Tattva1 knits

On my couch or at work

What I did on my summer vacation June 1, 2007

Filed under: FO,knitting,pomatomus — Emily @ 3:18 pm

anna and cicada 01

There is a hum in the air in Chicagoland. Yes, it’s the 17 year cicada!  Anna was very pleased to have the cicadas at Nana and Grandpa’s house.  The sea (lake) gulls were also happy to have food in such ample supply.  I almost felt like I was in The Birds.

In less buggy news, the Fetchings are complete!  For most folks, I could see these being a quick 2 day knit.  For me, a week was perfect.

Fetching Pair

Fetching

Pattern:  Fetching
Yarn: Mission Falls 1824 Wool in Raspberry, a little less than 2 skeins
Needles: Size 5 Plymouth Bamboo DPNs
Mods: I didn’t read through the pattern before packing everything up for the trip, so I didn’t have any waste yarn for the thumb holes. Instead, I just slipped the 7 thumb stitches onto a holder and cast on 7 stitches. On the left glove I used a cable cast-on, and for the right glove I used a backwards loop cast-on. It turned out pretty well.

They’re heading out to St. Louis to Sheri for her Loopy Ewe Quarterly Challenge.

I also cast-on for Pomatomus.  I am totally loving the yarn/pattern combination.  The Merino/Tencel has a sheen to it that goes well with a pattern named after a fish.  I’m only now just starting the charts, but they’re not too hard. 

Pomatomus start

 

One Response to “What I did on my summer vacation”

  1. lisa Says:

    The pink fetching are very pretty! Maybe I’ll do some of those socks…hmmm… Have you played with the cicada shells (the pupa that you can find on the tree bark…they’re shaped rather like a ‘sleeping’ cicada and they stick to your clothes pretty well)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.